About this Event

2021 Virtual Summer Institute

Learning Reimagined: Fostering Agency and Independence


On June 22–24, join us for a virtual summer institute with fellow teachers, coaches, and leaders from schools nationwide.


Together we will strengthen our implementations of Collaborative Classroom curricula, deepen our teaching practice, and connect and network with colleagues.


Special thanks go to our event partners: Burnsville-Eagan-Savage School District 191, MN; Corvallis School District, OR; Huntsville City Schools, AL; Springfield Public Schools, MA; and Hamline University, MN. 


Event Details


Dates: Tuesday–Thursday,  June 22–24, 2021


Times: 9:00 AM–1:30 PM Pacific / 10:00 AM–2:30 PM Mountain / 11:00 AM–3:30 PM Central / 12:00–4:30 PM Eastern


Professional Learning Focus: Deepen your understanding of the research-based, intentional design of Collaborative Classroom curricula and how they foster engagement, equity, agency, and independence for every child. This highly interactive virtual institute will include networking opportunities and breakout sessions for both new and experienced users. Preview the complete agenda and sessions schedule


Keynote Speakers: Educator and bestselling author Zaretta Hammond, National Writing Project executive director Elyse Eidman-Aadahl, and Collaborative Classroom’s Vice President for Organizational Learning Peter Brunn will keynote the institute. Visit Keynotes to learn more.


Zaretta Hammond on "Literacy as Liberation: Building Authentic Student Agency through Reading Instruction"

Elyse Eidman-Aadahl on "Don‘t Worry; We Got This: From Connected Learning to the Writing Workshop"

Peter Brunn on "What in the World Do We Do Now? Revising Our Teaching and Reexamining Essential Practices"


Who Should Attend: This professional learning event is designed for all K–8 teachers, coaches, and leaders who use Collaborative Classroom curricula, namely the Collaborative Literacy modules Being a Reader, Being a Writer, Making Meaning, and Book Clubs, as well as SIPPS  and Caring School Community.


Fee: $99 per person. Please see Registration & Payment for details about payment options and group registrations.


Platform: The virtual summer institute will be held via Zoom. To fully engage in the learning—which will be live, hands-on, and highly interactive—please have a laptop with video and audio enabled.


Certificate of Attendance: A certificate of attendance will be available to all registrants.


Optional Graduate Credit: Institute co-sponsor Hamline University will offer one graduate credit to registrants for an additional fee of $95. This fee is payable in a separate transaction with Hamline.


What questions do you have? Please visit Frequently Asked Questions or contact us at specialevents@collaborativeclassroom.org. To register, please click here.